Driving Training

Becoming a School Bus Driver in Pennsylvania: What You Need to Know

Driving TrainingDecember 18, 2017

Do you live in Pennsylvania, and are you considering becoming a school bus driver? If so, you’ll want to find out the school bus driver requirements for Pennsylvania, as the requirements will be different for each state.

Our summary below will show you how to become a school bus driver in Pennsylvania, helping you get on the right path to this career.

Pennsylvania School Bus Driver Requirements

In the state of Pennsylvania, the school bus driver requirements include: 

·       Must be at least 18 years of age or older.

·       Must obtain a School Bus Driver's Physical Examination Form (DL-704) from your prospective employer.

·       Upon passing the physical examination, you will need to submit Form DL-704 and Form DL-31D (Application for Commercial Learner's Permit), along with the appropriate fee to PennDOT. 

·       Must pass a vision screening test and knowledge tests, which include, but are not limited to: Commercial General Knowledge, Passenger Endorsement and School Bus Endorsement.

·       You must complete a minimum of 20 hours of school bus specific instruction. This training must include at least 14 hours of classroom training and at least 6 hours of in-bus training. 

·       You will have to pass a Road Test consisting of a pre-trip inspection, performance of basic maneuvers and an on-road driving test. Executing a simulated student discharge and a simulated (or actual) railroad crossing are also required.

In addition to the above requirements, Pennsylvania law requires candidates to pass both a criminal history check (conducted by the Pennsylvania State Police) and a child abuse history check (conducted by the Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare).